Sparks 2018 Banner

Cox & Palmer SPARKS Creative Writing Award

Cox & Palmer award 2017 winner Bridget Canning.
Cox & Palmer award 2018 winner Matthew Hollett.

The Cox & Palmer SPARKS Creative Writing Award was established in 2012 by the Atlantic Canadian law firm Cox & Palmer, to acknowledge outstanding achievement in any genre in the field of creative writing by a current or recent participant in Memorial’s creative writing courses and to support the future writing endeavours of the award recipient. At the 2015 SPARKS Festival the award was generously increased from $2500 to $4000.

Winners of the Cox & Palmer SPARKS Creative Writing Award to date:

  • 2012: Randy Drover
  • 2013: Dana Evely
  • 2014: Iain McCurdy
  • 2015: Melissa Barbeau
  • 2016: Katie Vautour
  • 2017: Bridget Canning
  • 2018: Matthew Hollett


The SPARKS Literary Festival was founded in 2009 by poet and professor Mary Dalton, who served as the festival's director for the first 6 years. Now organized by Memorial's Department of English with ongoing support from the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, SPARKS continues to celebrate the literary creations of Newfoundland and Labrador and showcase writers at various stages of their creative lives. It is what Dalton has called a "word spree." The festival also makes available displays of books and journals published in Newfoundland and Labrador and a mini-bookstore featuring works by the authors reading at the festival.


SPARKS Literary Festival is active on Facebook. Visit our page for the social side of SPARKS!