Sparks 2019 Banner

2019 SPARKS Poetry Competition Winners

Congratulations to the 2019 SPARKS Poetry Prize winners:

  • 1st Place: Sara B. Wiseman, “The Hour of Mice”
  • 2nd Place: Christa Shelley, “In Her Kitchen”
  • 3rd Place: Matthew Hollett, “Mundy Pond”

Honourable mentions went to

  • Molly Clarke, “Building a fire and something more”
  • Melanie Power, “Dear E.J. Pratt”


The SPARKS Literary Festival was founded in 2009 by poet and professor Mary Dalton, who served as the festival's director for the first 6 years. Now organized by Memorial's Department of English with ongoing support from the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences, SPARKS continues to celebrate the literary creations of Newfoundland and Labrador and showcase writers at various stages of their creative lives. It is what Dalton has called a "word spree." The festival also makes available displays of books and journals published in Newfoundland and Labrador and a mini-bookstore featuring works by the authors reading at the festival.


SPARKS Literary Festival is active on Facebook. Visit our page for the social side of SPARKS!